Skip to main content

National Symposium on Zoonoses Research 2018

Global Health: Epidemics require global solutions

Whether Ebola, West Nile, cicavirus or multi-resistant germs - epidemics cannot be stopped by national borders. How best to research, observe and contain them was discussed by around 350 scientists from human and veterinary medicine, epidemiology, bioinformatics and basic research in Berlin from 17 to 19 October 2018.
"Global health is a major topic for research and politics, because global health risks from pandemics are highly topical in times of globalization," said Prof. Dr. Christian Drosten of Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin at the opening of the National Symposium on Zoonoses Research, which took place in Berlin from October 17 to 19, 2018. This year, the National Research Platform for Zoonoses hosted the symposium for the first time together with the Research Network Zoonotic Infectious Diseases, which was founded in 2017. 


In den Sessions Pathogenesis and Modelling of zoonotic diseases, Risk Assessment and Epidemiology, Innate and Adoptive Immune Response, Antimicrobial Use and Resistance, Selected Plenary Talks of the Research Network of Zoonotic Infectious Diseases, New and Re-Emerging zoonotic diseases, Public Health, Pathogen-Cell Interaction, Novel Methods, Diagnostics and NGS und Epidemiology and Ecology of zoonotic infections wurde sowohl dem wissenschaftlichen Aspekt des Symposiums, der Zusammenarbeit mit dem Forschungsnetz als auch ÖGD-relevanten Themen Rechnung getragen. Abgerundet wurde dies durch die Keynote Vorträge etablierter nationaler und internationaler Wissenschaftler*innen wie Dr. Alexandra Mailles (French Public health Agency/ Santé publique France), Prof. Dr. Rene S. Hendriksen (Technical University of Denmark, Dänemark), Dr. Leonard Hamschmidt (Gesundheitsamt Oldenburg) und Dr. Terry Jones (University of Cambridge, GB). 

The lectures by Prof. Dr. Andrea Maisner (Philipps University Marburg) and the journalist Kai Kupferschmidt in the impulse session "Science Communication" provoked particularly lively and exciting discussions.

The promotion of young academics was also an important part of the symposium in 2018. In addition to the high proportion of young academics among the more than 150 abstracts submitted, the very popular Junior Scientist Breakfast and the awarding of the poster award to the authors of particularly outstanding posters among the submissions by young academics are worthy of mention in this context. 

In 2019, the symposium will once again bring together the global community of zoonoses research in Berlin and address current research findings and challenges. 


Downloads:

Program
Abstract volume


 

Artikel zu #

Passende Termine

Koordinationsbüro

c/o Institut für Virologie Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin
Campus Charité Mitte
Charitéplatz 1, 10117 Berlin
forschungsnetz@zoonosen.net

Ilia Semmler
Tel.: 030 - 450 525 094
Fax: 030 - 450 75 25 907

Andrea Sieberg
Tel.: 030 - 450 625 484
Fax: 030 - 450 75 25 907

Direkt zum Inhalt
  • 0
  • 1

National Symposium on Zoonoses Research 2018

Global Health: Epidemien erfordern globale Lösungen

Ob Ebola-, West-Nil-, Zikavirus oder multiresistente Keime – Epidemien sind nicht durch Ländergrenzen zu stoppen. Wie man sie am besten erforscht, beobachtet und eindämmt, erörterten rund 350 Wissenschaftler*innen aus Human- und Veterinärmedizin, Epidemiologie, Bioinformatik und Grundlagenforschung vom 17. bis 19. Oktober 2018 in Berlin.
„Global Health ist ein großes Thema für Forschung und Politik, denn globale Gesundheitsrisiken durch Pandemien sind in Zeiten der Globalisierung hochaktuell“, sagte Prof. Dr. Christian Drosten von der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin zur Eröffnung des Nationalen Symposiums für Zoonosenforschung, das vom 17. bis 19. Oktober 2018 in Berlin stattfand. Die Nationale Forschungsplattform für Zoonosen richtete das Symposium in diesem Jahr erstmalig mit dem 2017 gegründeten Forschungsnetz Zoonotische Infektionskrankheiten aus. 


In den Sessions Pathogenesis and Modelling of zoonotic diseases, Risk Assessment and Epidemiology, Innate and Adoptive Immune Response, Antimicrobial Use and Resistance, Selected Plenary Talks of the Research Network of Zoonotic Infectious Diseases, New and Re-Emerging zoonotic diseases, Public Health, Pathogen-Cell Interaction, Novel Methods, Diagnostics and NGS und Epidemiology and Ecology of zoonotic infections wurde sowohl dem wissenschaftlichen Aspekt des Symposiums, der Zusammenarbeit mit dem Forschungsnetz als auch ÖGD-relevanten Themen Rechnung getragen. Abgerundet wurde dies durch die Keynote Vorträge etablierter nationaler und internationaler Wissenschaftler*innen wie Dr. Alexandra Mailles (French Public health Agency/ Santé publique France), Prof. Dr. Rene S. Hendriksen (Technical University of Denmark, Dänemark), Dr. Leonard Hamschmidt (Gesundheitsamt Oldenburg) und Dr. Terry Jones (University of Cambridge, GB). 

Besonders angeregte und spannende Diskussionen riefen die Vorträge von Prof. Dr. Andrea Maisner (Philipps Universität Marburg) und dem Journalisten Kai Kupferschmidt in der Impulssession "Science Communication" hervor.

Die Förderung des akademischen Nachwuchs war auch 2018 ein wichtiger Bestandteil des Symposiums. Neben dem hohen Anteil von Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen unter den über 150 eingereichten Abstracts sei in diesem Zusammenhang noch das sehr beliebte Junior Scientist Breakfast sowie die Verleihung der Posterpreise an die Autoren und Autorinnen besonders herausragender Poster unter den Einreichungen der Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen verwiesen. 

Auch 2019 wird das Symposium wieder die globale Community der Zoonosenforschung in Berlin zusammenbringen und aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse und -herausforderungen adressieren. 


Downloads:

Programm
Abstractband


 

Artikel zu #

Passende Termine

Koordinationsbüro

Ilia Semmler
c/o Institut für Virologie Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin
Campus Charité Mitte
Charitéplatz 1, 10117 Berlin
Tel.: 030 - 450 525 094
Fax: 030 - 450 75 25 907
ilia.semmler@charite.de